Oct 262015
 October 26, 2015  Posted by  Featured News, Govt

Kieren McCarthy reports:

US watchdog the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has signed an agreement with seven countries to share cross-border information relating to privacy.

The new “alert” system will let regulators from America, UK, Australia, Canada, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, and Norway share confidential information about ongoing investigations, and the FTC is very excited about it.

“Today, data is increasingly crossing borders, and our privacy investigations and enforcement must do the same,” said FTC chair Edith Ramirez at the signing on Sunday. “GPEN Alert is an important, practical cooperation tool that will help GPEN [Global Privacy Enforcement Network] authorities protect consumer privacy across the globe.”

The other signatories are notably less excited however. Of the seven other countries, just one – the UK – has even bothered to announce the news. And the GPEN website has yet to update itself to contain information about its own new alert system.

Read more on The Register.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.