Nov 162010
 November 16, 2010  Posted by  Surveillance, U.S.

If you are anywhere near as disgusted and upset with TSA’s trampling of the Fourth Amendment and invasion of privacy as I am, please contact your legislators.   There is a Senate oversight hearing tomorrow (Wednesday, Nov. 17th).


The Senate Subcommittee on Aviation Operations, Safety, and Security will hold a Transportation Security Administration Oversight Hearing tomorrow.

For more info:
Jena Longo – Democratic Deputy Communications Director, (202) 224-8374
Nov 17 2010 – 10 AM
Russell Senate Office Building – 253

The committee chair is Sen Jay Rockefeller (D-WV) phone (202) 224-6472. The
ranking member is Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison 202-224-5922.

The subcommittee chair is Sen Byron L. Dorgon (D-ND) phone (202) 224-2551. The
ranking member is Sen Jim DeMint (R-SC) phone (202) 224-6121.

Regardless of your home state, call the chairpersons to ask whether recent TSA
abuses are on the agenda for the oversight hearing. Ask to speak with the
staffer responsible for dealing with issues related to the Committee on
Commerce, Science, and Transportation.

Here’s a list of committee members, their homepages, and phone numbers. If
one of
these people is your Senator, please also phone them, either at the number
below or look online to find their nearest local office; or you can visit in
person. A constituent who knows a senator’s committee assignments and
addresses issues for the agenda for a scheduled hearing gives him/herself an
educated and powerful voice.

If none of these people is your senator, contact the committee chairs. Also
contact your own senators and representative . They still need to hear your
opinion, it’s just that they won’t be at this hearing.

D-AK Mark Begich (202) 224-3004
D-AR Mark Pryor (202) 224-2353
D-CA Barbara Boxer (202) 224-3553
D-FL Bill Nelson 202-224-5274
D-HI Daniel K. Inouye (202) 224.3934
D-MA John F. Kerry [(202) 224-2742
D-MN Amy Klobuchar 202-224-3244
D-MO Claire McCaskill 202-224-6154
D-ND Byron L. Dorgon phone (202) 224-2551
D-NJ Frank R. Lautenberg (973) 639-8700, (888) 398-1642
D-NM Tom Udall (202) 224-6621
D-VA Mark Warner 202-224-2023
D-WA Maria Cantwell 202-224-3441
D-WV Jay Rockefeller (202) 224-6472

R-FL George S. LeMieux (202) 224-3041
R-GA Johnny Isakson (202) 224-3643
R-KS Sam Brownback (202) 224-6521
R-LA David Vitter (202) 224-4623
R-ME Olympia J. Snowe (202) 224-5344, (800) 432-1599
R-MS Roger F. Wicker 202-224-6253
R-NE Mike Johanns (202) 224-4224
R-NV John Ensign (202) 224-6244
R-SC Jim DeMint phone (202) 224-6121
R-SD John Thune (202) 224-2321, 1-866-850-3855
R-TX Kay Bailey Hutchison 202-224-5922

This link has information on committee staff, as well.

The hearing notice does not indicate whether the TSA outrage will be on the agenda, but when I called Senator DeMint’s office today, one of his staffers informed me that he believes it will be on the agenda.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.