Jun 262009
 June 26, 2009  Posted by  Breaches, Laws, U.S.

On July 1, 2009, new laws will take effect in Alaska and South Carolina that will require entities that have experienced data security breaches involving personal information to notify affected individuals of the breaches. With these additions, a total of 44 states, plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, will have active breach notification laws in place. There are no breach notification laws in Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico and South Dakota.

Read more on Privacy and Information Security Law Blog.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.